Review of Mastro’s Las Vegas & the worlds best Brussel Sprouts!

There are some things that are done better in America…customer service (you know its true), theme parks (sorry Alton towers but you cannot compare to Disneyworld or Universal), box sets (OMG Girls, House of Cards, The Good Wife..I could go on and on) and my new find Brussel Sprouts 🙂  Read on for my review of Mastro’s in Las Vegas and more about those spouts!

The Worlds Best (YES!!) Brussel Sprouts and a review of Mastro's Las Vegas

So last week hubby and I went to Las Vegas. We adore it there and try to save our pennies and pounds and go as often as we can, Easter is a nice time to go as its the perfect temperature, not too hot..around 25 to 28 degrees. I promise there is a post coming soon on my money saving tips for Las Vegas…yes there are quite a few.

On Wednesday last week we had Britney Spears tickets…not much to say on that except it’s a waste of money. Don’t bother as she mimed like the whole concert, check out my Youtube clip. Anyhows we had planned to meet my wonderful friend Mildred for drinks after she finished her concierge shift at the Aria where we stayed. I met Mildred 3 years ago whilst there for a friends 40th birthday. At the time she was working at the Cosmopolitan where we were staying. She did everything possible to make the trip the most special ever. And we have kept in touch ever since. She is wonderful and if you’re ever staying in Vegas at the Aria ask for Mama Mildred and say Lynn James AKA Mrs Mummypenny sent you 😉




So back to drinks, we had a couple of drinks in the Todd English pub by the Aria front desk. I had pineapple cider…wierd. Hubby had a whisky milkshake containing a lot of cream and the service was actually not great. Maybe because it was English themed pub??

So we left and went to Mastro’s Ocean Club for dinner instead. I had never heard of it, despite walking past it maybe 30 times. Its a tried and tested favourite of Mildred’s and is often recommended to her guests. We got there for the earliest possible dining time of 5pm. We were treated like absolute royalty, mainly because we were with a concierge from a posh hotel ;-). But also because we mentioned my birthday and because its America and service is king as are tips 😉

21-4-16 Mastros Las Vegas

21-4-16 martini at mastros




21-4-16 giant prawn

So we were seated at a great table, the manager came over to say hello and wish me happy birthday and we had the nicest waitress ever. I had a smoking apple martini to start. Our starter was 8oz prawns, seriously huge, more like lobster, Mildred went for crab cakes. And then for main we went for the 21-4-16 brussels and salmonrecommendations from the waitress sea bass for hubby, salmon for me and fillet for Mildred. The accompaniment sides were lobster mash potato and roasted brussel sprouts. Now let me tell you no 1 the fish and meat was very good but the brussel sprouts were AMAZING, like the best side dish I have ever ordered. Boy does Mastros cook them well.

21-4-16 uncooked brussel sproutsAnd I made them tonight myself as Mildred shared the recipe. Brussels from Aldi for 85p (half the packet to the left). Slice the ends off and cut them in half. Place into a roasting tray. Drizzle over oil, I used rapeseed oil as I love it. Generous sprinkle of sea salt and cracked pepper. Roast for 25-30 minutes at 200 degrees. That is it. ****** perfect. See the pictures. Do it, you won’t regret it. Check out my photo..they look EXACTLY like the ones in the restaurant. I am impressed with myself!!

21-4-16 cooked brussel sprouts




So back to Mastros, they only made me a birthday cake. I say made me, possibly not made just for me, likely a shared dessert already on the menu..but it was amazing. A butter cake topped with ice cream, fruit and a huge bowl of creme fresh. ****** lovely, a struggle to eat the food as it was sooo nice and we were so full. But we forced it down..

21-4-16 birthday cake at mastros

And off to Britney we rolled….

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on google
Google+
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn

More to explore

Top Tricks to Have a Shiny Hair

Shiny, lustrous hair is every girl’s dream. We’ve put together some effective and easy tips to help you achieve that in the

Categories

Lynn Beattie

Aka Mrs MummyPenny

Personal Finance Expert

I write about personal finance made simple, lifestyle choices that will save you time and money, as well as products and services that offer great value.

Get the latest…subscribe to the newsletter for hundreds of money saving tips.

I wish to receive emails & promotions.

follow Mrs MummyPenny

3 Responses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *